Reloaction Database Luxembourg
Relocation Database

Political System

The Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg is a parliamentary democracy in the form of a constitutional monarchy.

Executive power

In a monarchy, the sovereign is the head of state. Following the parliamentary elections, the leader of the party is named Prime Minister by the sovereign for a term of 5 years. The prime minister is the head of the government. The Council of Minister is recommended by the Prime Minister and appointed by the sovereign.

Legislative power

It is based on joint action between the Chamber of deputies, the Government and the Council of the State. The Chamber of deputies is compound of 60 deputies elected every 5 years by the proportional voting method. Its role is to vote the draft laws. The members also have a right of initiative parliamentary.

Main political parties

The Luxembourg has a multipartyism political system. They have no chance to access alone to the power and work together in coalition governments. The main political parties are :

  • The Christian Social People’s Party: Center right, this is the biggest party in Luxembourg. It has a Christian-democratic ideology. 
  • The Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP): the second largest party in Luxembourg. It is center-left.
  • The Democratic Party: center-right, follow a liberal ideology politic
  • The Green: center-left
  • Alternative Democratic Reform Party: center-left, conservative party against the euro party
  • The left: center-left

Government leaders

The Grand-Duchy: HENRI (since October 2000)
Prime Minister: XAVIER BETTEL (since December 2013)